top of page

To Sleep or Not To Sleep?

Sleep is often looked at as the enemy. "Sleep when you're dead", "sleep is for broke people", "you don't want success as much as you want to sleep", "sleep faster"... ever heard any of these???? As much as I understand, respect, and encourage sacrificing sleep sometimes, doing it on a regular basis can run you down. I've had plenty of late nights and early mornings the next day because I was working diligently on something and still had to be up early for one reason or another. I've also done that repeatedly and learned the hard way that it was detrimental to my success in the long run. Here's my story: I was I was working the evening shift from 3pm - 11:30pm at my regular job 5-6 nights a week. I decided I was going to pick up a side hustle for some extra cash. This side hustle started at 1am and could last until anywhere from 4am - 7am. At first it was no problem. I'd work, work, work until I had a day off and then I'd catch up on rest. No big deal, right? After about a month of it, I noticed a change, and it wasn't a good one. I was started to become sloppy in my work, forgetting little yet important details, I looked terrible, and I couldn't think straight. I was 27 years old at the time, and I felt a lot older. My body ached, I had headaches all the time, I didn't have the energy to workout, and to top it off... I was too tired to deal with any sort of relationship. Moral of the story: sleep is important. It's OK to sacrifice sleep here and there, even for a whole week if it's for a specific goal, but don't let it ruin you. I say because in my experience, a lack of sleep reduced my ability to think clearly, generate ideas, manage my time correctly, and ruined my moods which effected my networking. Don't let a lack of Zzz's prevent you from improving and advancing towards success because someone told you the only way to succeed is to not sleep. Stay strong (and well rested), Clinton  

bottom of page